Private Conference Calls

From encryption to PINs to lobby alerts, UberConference provides many features to help protect the privacy of your online meetings.

Private Conferencing

If you have distributed your UberConference number and URL, UberConference ensures there is an extra layer of security. With locking features for your browser and mobile, UberConference makes sure all participants on a call are documented and meant to be there.

img of try it free

Security Matters—Here’s What We’re Doing About It

Participants List

Each participant is listed with details about their connection location. Profile information, such as a photo, may be displayed for registered UberConference users to help identify speakers. Dial-in participant cards include information about the number, Caller ID, and location of the originating phone number. Any unwanted attendee can be removed by the conference organizer.

Lock Your Conference

Organizer’s have the ability to lock their conference rooms. A conference lock prevents new participants from joining the conference. This can be enabled or disabled at any time during the conference to keep your meetings private.

To PIN or not to PIN, the Choice is Yours

Whether you use UberConference Free or Business, you get a unique URL that your participants can join with just one click. No login, no PIN. We recommend you only share the URL with participants you want on the call and preferably not in public platforms. If you want more control over your conference, however, you can always leverage UberConference features such as adding a PIN or a conference lock.

When participants call in to a conference from their phone, UberConference free users must set a PIN, which helps protect against spam or other unwanted guests from barging into the conference. UberConference Business users have the choice of whether or not to require a PIN for participants joining by phone (most users don’t and have no issues).

To set a PIN for your UberConference, navigate to “Settings” and click on Require PIN for my conferences in the Additional Security section. Once you confirm the changes to your account, you will see a Participant and Organizer PIN on your Settings page.

You’re the Boss of Your Meeting

No organizer wants an uninvited guest to abruptly join their meeting, regardless of how sensitive the information is being discussed. Here are just a few of the settings that UberConference offers users to ensure their meetings remain private:

  • Don’t start without me: Don’t start video or audio until the organizer joins. We’ll play better-than-average hold music until you’re ready to start the meeting.
  • Lobby alert: Organizers can receive a push notification or text message when participants are joining your conference (even when you haven’t yet joined yourself)
  • Who’s in my room? Easily view all participants inside of the conference and approximately where they’re joining from, regardless of how they joined (web or phone). You can customize the participant’s name card so you don’t have to memorize phone numbers.
  • Goodbye: Remove any participant with one click.
  • Just between us: Got everyone you need? You can lock the conference to stop anyone else from joining the room, accidentally or otherwise. This is especially useful when you have back to back meetings and run over a little—it happens to us all.

Access these and more from the settings menu in UberConference at https://www.uberconference.com/settings.

Screen Sharing

Just like the audio and video coming from your computer, UberConference screen share is encrypted from the time you begin your screen share until it ends. Other than those who are viewing the screen through your conference URL, no one else can access the information you share. After your conference ends, your screen share will no longer be available to any participant and is not stored by UberConference. As the conference organizer, you have the option to block others from sharing their screens.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I lock an UberConference meeting?

The lock option is available at the bottom of your conference screen on the web or mobile app, or you can press ## if you are dialing in from your phone.

How do I evict someone from a UberConference call?

If you need to kick out a meeting participant who's connected via audio or even just viewing the screen, hover over the person’s participant card and click “Remove.” Saying “goodbye now” is optional.

How are UberConference calls encrypted?

When you join an Uberconference from the web, the setup for the call is protected by DTLS, which is similar to how web traffic is encrypted during website requests (i.e.: https, the protocol responsible for the lock in browser URL bars). Once the conference begins, your audio and/or video is protected by SRTP, a secure protocol designed specifically for transferring real time media. Phone calls from the public telephony networks may not have the same security measures built in, therefore, we recommend that you and your participants connect to conferences through the web or HD calls from Uberconference mobile apps when encrypted communication is a priority.

Where is UberConference data stored?

We store all of our data in the United States in Google Cloud Platform, which is ISO 27001 certified and audited every year for the SOC2 Type II. Please see Google Cloud Platform’s Security Page for further information.

Is UberConference HIPAA compliant?

Yes, UberConference is HIPAA Compliant with the signing of a Business Associate agreement. For more information, please visit our Trust Page.

More questions? Visit Our Help Center For More Questions

UberConference Apps

Get our UberConference App for iPhone and Android. Visit the Chrome web store for our Chrome Extension which makes it super easy to start and schedule calls right from your browser.